Skip to main content

58th Central Washington Artists’ Exhibit

58th Central Washington Artists’ Exhibit

November 2 — December 7, 2013

On November 2, 2013, the Larson Gallery at Yakima Valley Community College will open the 58th Annual Central Washington Artists’ Exhibition.  70 artworks were chosen by guest juror Steve Grafe;  created by artists from Yakima, Benton, Kittitas, Walla Walla, Chelan, and Grant counties.  The chosen pieces are in a variety of media including acrylic, ceramic, watercolor, glass, jewelry, collage, fiber, oil, photography, bronze, encaustic, goache, metalworking and wood.   The exhibit will open with a reception on Saturday, November 2, from 3-5pm.  Admission to the reception and exhibit is free and open to the public.  The exhibit will continue through December 7, 2013.

Steven L. Grafe, the juror for this year’s show is the Curator of Art at Maryhill Museum of Art, where he has held the position since 2009.  Steve has served as Acting Curator of Native Heritage at the High Desert Museum in Bend, Oregon, and as Visual Resources Librarian at the Oregon College of Art and Craft in Portland.  Steve was also Chief Curator at the Southwest Museum in Los Angeles (2001-2003) and Curator of American Indian Art at the National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City (2004-2009).

At 4pm, during the opening reception, 18 awards will be presented totaling $4,040.  Awards sponsors include Shields Bag & Printing, Larson Gallery Guild, Kurt & Melissa Labberton, Christian & Janet Schlect, Heritage University, Walter & Peggy Lewis, Leo Adams, Bruce Simpson & Denali Granholm, Gasperetti’s, Allied Arts of Yakima Valley, Doug & Laurie Kanyer, Oak Hollow, Jeffrey M. Reynolds, Baha’i Faith of Yakima, Marcia Blevins, YVCC President’s Award, Delma Tayer, Rob & Michelle Wyles, Yakima Valley Society of Artists, and June Fest Artists.  This exhibition is also made possible through the generous support of Shields Bag & Printing, Christian & Janet Schlect, Heritage University, and Memorial Hospital & Memorial Physicians.